Argos on Facebook Argos on Twitter Argos on YouTube Mailing List RSS Feed Text Alerts Broadcasts Live Stats

University of West Florida Announces 2008-09 Hall of Fame Class

Jim Spooner Leads List of Six Inductees

PENSACOLA, Fla. - The University of West Florida Athletic Department is pleased to announce its Hall of Fame Class of 2009, including three student-athletes, one coach, and two special achievement honorees. The late Jim Spooner, former UWF baseball coach for 23 seasons, highlights the list of inductees. Women's soccer player Heidi Dietiker, women's basketball player Lakeisha Little, and men's basketball player Mike Morgan will be inducted as players, and UWF graduates Hiram Cook and Sandy Sansing are the special achievement honorees.

The UWF Hall of Fame Weekend will take place on February 13-14. The event will start on Friday, February 13 with a 9:00 am round of golf at Scenic Hills Country Club in Pensacola, followed by a 6:00 pm social and 7:00 pm banquet. On Saturday, Jim Spooner's jersey will be retired before the baseball game, with the event scheduled to begin at 12:30 pm. The Argonaut Athletic Club, currently under construction, will have its grand opening at the UWF Field House on Saturday during the women's basketball game at 2:00 pm, and the Hall of Fame inductees will be recognized at halftime of the men's game at 4:00 pm.

Jim Spooner (Baseball Coach)
Jim Spooner led the UWF baseball team from 1983-2005, compiling a record of 688-521-1 and leading the Argonauts to three Southern States Conference titles and two Gulf South Conference East Division championships. On August 22, UWF named its baseball field after the long-time coach, and the Argonauts will play at Jim Spooner Field at Pelican Park starting in 2009. Spooner was unable to attend the field dedication due to a lengthy battle with cancer, and he passed away less than a month later on September 13.

Heidi Dietiker (Women's Soccer)
Women's soccer graduate Heidi Dietiker came to UWF from Tennessee Wesleyan in 1995 after her freshman season, making the move to Pensacola along with Head Coach Bill Elliott. Dietiker played 56 games in her Argonaut career, 54 of which she started, and tallied nine goals and 10 assists while playing much of her time on defense. The Tampa, Fla. native was an All-GSC first team member in 1996 and 1997, and she also earned NSCAA/adidas All-South Region honors in her senior year in 1997. Dietiker was a member of the Argonauts team to make the transition to NCAA in 1996, capturing the GSC title in its first season.

Lakeisha Little (Women's Basketball)
Lakeisha Little of Jacksonville, Fla. played for the UWF women's basketball team from 1996-2000, one of the most successful four-year periods in the team's history. As a senior in 1999-00, Little was named the GSC East Division Player of the Year, one of four Argonauts to earn the honor for the UWF women's basketball program. She averaged 16.9 points that season and also tallied 44 three-pointers, 52 assists, and 57 steals. The guard also ranks among the team's all-time best in several statistical categories, including points (970), assists (222), and steals (221).

Mike Morgan (Men's Basketball)
Men's basketball alumnus Mike Morgan also took the court at UWF from 1996-2000, and the Argonauts averaged nearly 20 wins in those four years. Morgan earned an All-GSC second team selection as a senior, and he led the team on and off the court as a two-year team captain. The Boca Raton, Fla. native is one of three UWF men's basketball players to join the 1,000 point club, totaling 1,085 in his career. He also ranks among the program's all-time best in nearly every offensive and defensive category. Morgan graduated with Honors in the UWF Computer Science program.

Hiram Cook (Men's Golf - Special Achievement)
As two members of the UWF golf team in its early years, Hiram Cook and Sandy Sansing helped plant the seeds of what the UWF Athletic Department would grow into in its modern era. Cook played for UWF in 1968-1970. Now the owner of Stonebrook Golf Club in Pace, Fla., he has helped promote junior golf in the Gulf Coast area through numerous tournaments, scholarships, and more. In 2007, Cook was honored with the Pensacola Sports Association's Shugart Award, an award named after Admiral Kenneth L. Shugart which recognizes community leaders who have made significant contributions to youth sports. Cook's daughter Robin Dezarn is the current Head Coach of the UWF women's golf team.

Sandy Sansing (Men's Golf - Special Achievement)
Sandy Sansing, known locally as the owner of several car dealerships in the area, was the recipient of the first golf scholarship at UWF and graduated in 1969. He has contributed to the development of athletics in the Pensacola area through an incredible amount of sponsorships, including but not limited to little league teams and Big Brothers Big Sisters. In addition, he has partnered with six Escambia County and Santa Rosa County schools. Sansing has served as Chairman of the Board for N.W. Florida Fellowship of Christian Athletes since 1992 and has served on the FCA National Board since 1993. In 2003, he was named the Pensacola Sports Association Sportsman of the Year.

For information on all UWF Athletics, visit

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share

Argos Sponsors

NCAAGulf South ConferenceATHLETICSITE.COM Partner