Argos on Facebook Argos on Twitter Argos on YouTube Mailing List RSS Feed Text Alerts Broadcasts Live Stats

Twenty-one Argos selected for Division II ADA Academic Achievement Award

UWF leads Gulf South Conference in award winners

CLEVELAND, Ohio – Twenty-one student-athletes from the University of West Florida have been chosen as 2009-10 recipients of the Division II Athletics Directors Association (DII ADA) Academic Achievement Awards presented by WeatherPORT. The Academic Achievement Awards is a program that recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the Division II level.

UWF’s 21 honorees are the most of any Gulf South Conference school in the 2009-10 season. Three other GSC universities had student-athletes who were recognized with the award.

Ninety-two institutions sent in nominees for the 2009-10 Academic Achievement Awards, while a total of 3,022 student-athletes are being recognized this year. In order for a student-athlete to receive an Academic Achievement Award, the athletics director of the Division II institution must be a current dues paying member of the DII ADA.

Also, the student-athlete must:
• have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale
• have attended a minimum of two years (four semesters) of college level work
• have been an active member of an intercollegiate team during his/her last academic year

"We want to thank and congratulate those colleges and universities that took part in honoring its student-athletes," stated Division II ADA President Greg Waggoner, director of athletics at Western State College of Colorado. "We look forward to continued participation in the future and wish everyone the best of luck during the upcoming year. We also want to thank WeatherPORT for making this important recognition possible."

2009-10 DII ADA Academic Achievement Award Winners from UWF
Stacy Paton, Women's Cross Country
Courtney Jones, Women's Soccer
Timothy Hoggard, Men's Basketball
Frances Bell, Softball
Rachel Williams, Women's Golf
Sean Gunnels, Men's Tennis
Jillian Lafrance, Softball
Maddie Staub, Volleyball
Dominique Boykins, Women's Basketball
Caitlin Salak, Women's Basketball
Guy Hill, Baseball
Zachary  North, Baseball
Carmel Gray, Women's Tennis
Taylor Brewster, Women's Tennis
Paul Willoughby, Men's Soccer
Bruno Ferreira, Men's Soccer
Brandon Droge, Baseball
Monica Malavassi, Women's Soccer
Alexzandria Mikedis, Softball
Romina Higa Tamashiro, Women's Tennis
Cholena Russo, Women's Soccer

Full Release

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share

Argos Sponsors

NCAAGulf South ConferenceATHLETICSITE.COM Partner